Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

It’s a wonderful life!

Yeah, I know, it’s the wrong time of year for that reference. It’s so true though. Life is freaking awesome.

I’m saying this because I have the most wonderful pen pal/friend in the world. No, that’s not the only reason…LOL…but it’s the one I feel compelled to talk about this evening.

Phil.

If you haven’t read the earlier post of the same name, then I shall tell you that Phil is amazing. Brilliant. Sweet. Funny. I could go on…and on.

Instead, I shall tell you a little bit about the gift I received from him yesterday. Small, inexpensive, home-made. And so sweet and special and thoughtful it brought tears to my eyes. He made a little fold-up card of sorts that had another little band of paper that slid over it to keep it closed. It’s gorgeous. Says…For Lois. You take the band off and open the card up and inside are beautiful butterflies on the paper. And in the middle, a little card attached by ribbon, with a lock of hair on it. The other side of the card has a beautiufl poem about his gift:

A little gift I hope will please

A lock of hair from overseas

It isn’t dyed, it’ isn’t grey

I hope it brightens up your day

Isn’t that beautiful? Such a special gift. He knows me pretty well…how sentimental I am. Just thinking about it has choked me up and brought tears to my eyes several times.

I took my gift to work today and showed it to my coworkers. They all thought it was awesome too. They asked me how I was going to top that. I have no idea….LOL. 

I have to admit to being a little confused as to the meaning of such a gift. We’re friends. Good friends. But does a gift like that mean more? I don’t know. I’ve been trying to figure it out. Trying not to project my own wishes and desires in the process. I still don’t know though.

Do I want to know?

I’ve asked myself that question too. Not knowing is kind of exciting. The feeling of anticipation is exhilirating. It’s a roller-coaster ride.  If I knew the answer, it would be one or the other. No possibilities. No “what if’s?”. I might get an answer I don’t like too….LOL. So, I’ve decided, not knowing isn’t such a bad thing. I don’t need to know right now anyway. I’m sure I’ll know, one way or another, somewhere down the line. It’s inevitable. But for right now, I’m enjoying every minute.

That’s what life is all about isn’t it? Sucking every bit of joy and happiness and wonder from every experience we have. And this experience is one of the best of my life. I don’t want it to end. So for now, I’ll just enjoy and leave well enough alone.

Ciao for now

January 30, 2011 - Posted by | Life | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. fantastic

    Comment by limewire | February 24, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

