Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

Writing Exercise

I had an absolutely WONDERFUL time at my last writing group meetup. I just love everyone in the group. They are all so talented and supportive. This is the best group ever.

This meeting was our “writing exercise”. We had a page of “prompts” to choose from and we had to pick one and write about it. I had a hard time choosing one. I finally went with one that was about getting a postcard, one week after the funeral of a close friend, that said “I’m not dead. Meet me tomorrow night at ____. Tell no one.”

We all wrote for about 30 minutes and then read our stories. Here’s mine. (I actually had someone tell me that I should expand it and submit it in the short story competition at the library. I was flattered.)

It had been exactly one week. One week to the day since John’s funeral. That’s when I got the postcard. It had been placed on the porch, in front of the door. It said, “I’m not dead. Meet me tonight at the park. Tell no one.”

I was in shock. John was alive! I wasn’t too hard for me to believe. After all, I hadn’t seen his body. It was supposedly cremated. Obviously, they’d cremated someone else. I couldn’t imagine his wife, Elaine, not being able to tell that it wasn’t him, but I guess the body had been mangled pretty bad.

I was excited, scared, unsure of what to do. Should I go to the park? I had to. John had always been a good friend. If he really was still alive, and in hiding, then he probably needed my help. Maybe there were bad people after him. Maybe he was running from them, in fear for his life.

I had it all figured out by the time I pulled my car into the park, as far away from the lights as possible. I sat there for a while, waiting, looking around. I saw nothing. I was about to give up, thinking it was all a hoax, when there was a tap at the passenger window. I nearly jumped out of my skin. It was John.

I unlocked the door and he got in. “Drive.” he said.

I pulled out of the parking lot and started driving. I headed to the country roads that I was familiar with, less traffic.

“What’s going on?” I asked, “I thought you were dead. Everyone thought you were dead.”

“I’m sorry. It was just a freak accident. I picked up a hitchhiker and right from the start, I noticed he looked a lot like me. It was a little uncanny, let me tell you. Anyway, I realized this was my big chance. So I took it.”

I looked at him strangely, “What are you talking about?”

“I killed him. I got him drunk, drove my truck to the railroad tracks and put him behind the wheel and left him there.”

“Oh my God, John. Why did you do that? Are you running from someone? Is someone out there trying to kille you?”

He looked at me, puzzled. “No. Why would you think that? I did this for you…and me. I love you. I did this so we could run away and be together.”

I stopped the car. “You are insane! I thought you faked your death because you were being hunted by the mob or something. I wouldn’t run off with you. Whatever gave you that idea?”

John looked hurt. “All those looks you gave me…the hugs…..the smiles. I know you felt something.”

“Yeah, I liked you. That’s it. We were friends, John, nothing more. Oh my god, I can’t believe you did this.”

He got really upset, “You’re just a bitch like every other woman I know.”

He reached over and put his hands around my neck. I couldn’t breathe. I tried pushing him off. I reached my leg up and tried kicking him away. I kneed him in the ribs. He cried out and lost his grip for a second. I took a deep breath and reached for the door handle. He grabbed me again. This time he had my arm. I opened the door with my other hand. I tried to get out but he was holding me. I reached over and pushed my thumb into one of his eyes. He screamed and let go of me. I jumped out of the car and into the bright headlights of an oncoming Dump Truck. The truck saw me just in time and swerved….right into my car, crushing it like a tin can.

I guess what goes around comes around.

December 18, 2010 - Posted by | Friends, Writing | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

