Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

Nose Tampons?

This is the time of year when people get colds. Colds generally mean runny noses. Runny noses, suck.

As you might have guessed, I have a cold. My nose is runny. Well, my left nostril is runny. It’s not pleasant at all. In fact, it’s a pain in the ass.

As most of you know (if you know me at all), I am a cake decorator. I work in full view of the public…with my hands. It’s not seemly at all to wipe my runny nose and continue working. It’s pretty gross, actually. I am very aware of where my hands go and what they touch. I’m not OCD about it, but I like to keep my hands clean.

It can be a challenge when your working and have a cold…something I had to deal with today. I mentioned to Teresa (my co-worker) that I thought “nose tampons” would be a great idea. She said she thought it was a gross idea. I told her the strings might put a few people off, but it would sure keep you from having to go blow/wipe your nose and then wash your hands every few minutes.

She was not convinced…LOL.

Anyway, I think they would be a great idea. Tiny, little nose tampons that you insert into your nostril to keep them from dripping. Excellent idea, don’t you think?

There could be a few drawbacks though.

I’m not talking about the obvious one…making a public spectacle out of yourself. There are other concerns though. Such as….

### What if you leave it in too long?###

I’m sure you can see where this is going right away. I mean, you got a tampon up your nose…it’s absorbing liquid…getting bigger. There might come a point where you’re no longer able to pull it out. It could get wedged up in there and get too big to fit through the opening of your nostril. You know someone would do it. You’d probably do it yourself.

“Hmm, I wonder how long I can keep this thing in here before it gets too big to come out?”

You know you’d do it. Especially if you’re a guy. You’d even time it, measure it, weigh it. It would be a competition thing.

###What if the string comes loose?###

Wouldn’t happen. Women have been having that same worry for years and I’ve never had the problem. I don’t know anyone else that’s had that problem either. I’m pretty sure that’s something the manufacturers keep a close eye on.

###What if it got stuck up my nose too far?###

Yeah, that’s gonna happen too. You’re gonna have some dumbass who will stick it up his nose so far that it will cause some sort of damage. (No, it was not coincidence that I used “he”)

Despite the problems that might arise, I think nose tampons would be an excellent addition to the shelves of pharmacies everywhere. And while I may not wear them to work (then again, I just might), I could definitely see me sporting one (or two) around the house with the strings tucked behind my ears (so they don’t tickle my lips).

What say you?

February 20, 2010 - Posted by | Life |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

