Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

I love learning new things!

"Groovy"

 

Today I sharpened the chain on my chainsaw!

You know how it is when you don’t know how to do something and you think it’s going to be really hard and involved? Well, that’s what I thought about sharpening my chainsaw blade. Boy, was I wrong. I’ve been putting it off and putting it off and even considered just buying another chain but now I’m glad that I didn’t. I would have felt like a fool. I do that enough already.

So, today was my day off. I decided I was going to at least give it a try. Problem. I had no idea how to use the file and guide.

Idea.

Let’s check out eHow and see if anyone has posted instructions on how to go about sharpening a chain.

Voila!

Yes indeed, several people have submitted articles on how to sharpen a chainsaw chain. Not many of them were good articles though…LOL. Most of them were pretty vague and didn’t go into much detail. These are the people who would post an article on “how to cook a turkey” with 1. put turkey in oven. 2. bake until done. 3. eat. One person though (username greatnews) had a very informative article with pictures. I was set.

So, to make a long story short…LOL…no comments please…I sat down, put the chainsaw on the table and proceeded to sharpen it. It didn’t take much time at all and I was surprised at how easy and quick it went. That made me wonder…was I doing it right? Only one way to find out. I took the chainsaw outside and proceeded to cut some wood.

YES! It was like using a new chain. I was amazed and excited.

In a world where nothing comes easy or cheap and you have to struggle for every inch of progress you make, it’s very refreshing to find something that is quick, cheap and easy.

Hell, I don’t even fit all those categories…LOL. I haven’t been quick in a long time.

Anyway, it’s nice to feel like I’ve made some progress and learned something new. I am going to be SO ready for next winter.

February 15, 2010 - Posted by | Life | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

