Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

Saturdays Suck

Yeah, that’s right, I hate Saturdays. That’s the suckiest day of the week for me.

Why, you ask?

Well, unlike most people who have 8 to 5 jobs, monday thru friday, weekends off, I happen to be a cake decorator. That means I work weekends. Do you know why I have to work weekends? Because of all you “normal” people out there that think you have to have your parties on…you guessed it…the weekend. So, while we may get 6 to 15 orders a day during the week, we get 35 to 40, maybe more, on Saturdays.

Wait, that’s not all.

Due to the wonderful order-taking abilities of some of my co-workers, we always have issues with at least a few of the orders. Today was no different. Three people had to be called to clarify their orders. Taking a cake order is NOT rocket science. The order form is very simple. It tells you everything that is needed and all you have to do is fill in the blank or circle something. The only place where you have to do much writing at all is the “description” area. How do they want it decorated? I could write pages on all the un-decipherable gibberish I’ve had to try and translate. Then there’s the inscription area. Bad penmanship + weird ass names = pissed off decorator.

I’M NOT A FREAKING MIND READER!

You know, that’s probably a good thing.

And another thing…

No, this has nothing to do with Saturdays. This has to do with rude ass drivers.

I drive 30 minutes to work. Today, on my half-hour drive home, after a shitty day, I’m switching highways, and as I make my way around the ramp and speed up to get onto the other highway, I almost get run over by a van who won’t make way for me as I’m trying to merge. Normally, this wouldn’t bother me too much but there were two factors that pissed me off. The first, there were no other cars around. This asshole could have easily moved over into the other lane. The second, I notice a cross sticker on their back window. A cross. This jerk was advertising his “christianity”. I don’t know about you, but if I was going to drive like an ass, I wouldn’t advertise that I was a “christian”. It’s not good publicity.

I should probably stop here…before I go on a rampage about hypocrisy. It could get real ugly and offensive. So, I’ll quit my rant now and just chalk it up to having a bad day.

Ciao!

February 13, 2010 - Posted by | Life, Work | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

