Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

The Winter of my Discontent

Ok, so every winter makes me discontented. I hate the cold. I’m not alone. Which would you prefer…sitting on the couch, shivering, goosebumps puckering your skin, toes and fingers cold and achey…or…sitting outside on the porch, the sun warming your face, a gentle breeze blowing against your skin…making you want to take off all your clothes so you can feel it all over, the air full of the fresh scents of grass, flowers and dirt. Forgive me if I choose the latter.

Yes, I’m ready for Spring. I try to like Winter…but I just can’t. I don’t like the idea of wishing time to go by faster, I want to find something to enjoy every minute of it. I just can’t help it when it comes to Winter. Maybe one of these days I will come to terms with this cold and dreary time of year, but I have little hope of it. Maybe I was a turtle or bear or some such hibernating creature in a former life. I envy them the ability to crawl into a hole and sleep the whole horrible season away. To go from Fall to Spring in the blink of an eye would be glorious.

What then though?

Next, there would be Summer. Well, it’s just too hot, isn’t it? How about we sleep through that too? Pretty soon we’d be setting our alarms to wake us up only for “perfect” days. And I don’t know about your part of the world…but mine doesn’t really have a lot of those. Maybe I’ll just keep trying to find some redeeming quality about winter that will help me appreciate it just a little.

Anyhoo, not a whole lot going on around here. Sorry I can’t be a little more interesting.  I could make some stuff up, I guess. I generally try to stick to the truth though. My memory isn’t good enough to keep up with a bunch of lies and I really hate the embarrassing, awkward moment where you get caught in a lie. It sucks.

Well, I think I’ll head to bed. I’m having a hard time thinking of anything to say and an even harder time trying to keep my eyelids open.

Till next time…

February 1, 2010 - Posted by | Life | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

