Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

I love the Tick

Have you ever seen the live action show “The Tick”? Patrick Warburten plays the title role and does an awesome job of it.

Why am I mentioning it?

Because whoever wrote the dialogue for Tick was a genius. It has some of the most hilarious, descriptive writing I’ve ever seen. I would love to be able to write like that. I’ll give you some examples:

Tick: It’s your turn now, Thorace-bog.
Thrakkorzog: It’s Thrakkorzog. Thrakkorzog. With a K.
Tick: We’re only serving humble pie, Whatchamazog.
Thrakkorzog: For the last time, it’s…
Tick: Thorax-and-a-bog. Four-yacks-and-a-dog.
Thrakkorzog: No.
Tick: Ah, laxative-log.
Thrakkorzog: No, no, no.
Tick: Sapsucker-frog.
Thrakkorzog: Thrakkorzog.
Tick: Susan?
Thrakkorzog: Now you’re doing it on purpose. How juvenile

and:

The Tick: Death. The eternal blink. The capricious dance of Now You Stop Moving Forever. Well, contrary to popular belief, death isn’t just for dead people. It can happen to anyone. I know, it’s news to me too. And it’s not just people either, it’s all kinds of stuff. Horses, fiddler crabs. Did you know that even a potato… can die?

and one of my personal favorites:

Tick: Everybody was a baby once, Arthur. Oh, sure, maybe not today, or even yesterday. But once. Babies, chum: tiny, dimpled, fleshy mirrors of our us-ness, that we parents hurl into the future, like leathery footballs of hope. And you’ve got to get a good spiral on that baby, or evil will make an interception.

Is that  not awesome?

Maybe I’ll try my hand at over-dramatizing like that. I have no idea if I could pull something like that off….but you never know till you try.

January 7, 2010 - Posted by | Life, Writing | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

