Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

I hate winter

Ok, so maybe it wasn’t as bad as this, but the recent snow storm we had (still dealing with) was bad. I missed work today. To tell the truth, it didn’t really break my heart. It wasn’t fun wondering how my car was going to get out of the lake (big puddle) at the end of my driveway though.

Ok, I’ll back up a bit. For all of you that don’t know, I live in the country, down a private gravel road. I have to confess that the road is not in the best of shape. There are only 3 houses down this road. Mine is in the middle, about 1/3 of a mile from the main road. I have a driveway leading to my house off the gravel road. It’s not too long…maybe 40 yards.  Anyway, to keep my story from being too long…LOL…I started out in the car this morning and slid and swerved all the way down my personal driveway to where it connects to the main driveway and promptly got stuck in the big, iced over mud puddle that resembles a small lake. No matter what I did, I couldn’t go forward or back.

Ok, so I wasn’t going to make it to work. That was a given. Now comes the really interesting part. I opened my door to find myself about 3 ft. from the “bank”. While this may not seem like an insurmountable distance, I was not prepared to take the risk of jumping from the car to the snow covered ground and risking falling into the icy water or slipping and falling on the snow. Call me crazy.

So, what to do? Luckily, I had my cell phone with me and I called back to the house, woke up Jared and asked him to bring the footstool and rescue me. He was a sweetheart and came to my rescue. I was very lucky that he was with me today.

And now back to the car. It sat in the “lake” all day, the water freezing around it, until this evening, after dark, my brother-in-law, James, came and helped me out. You know what he did? He took a shovel, broke all the ice from around the car, threw it off to the side and I got in and drove it out. I felt like such an idiot. I could have done that myself if I’d thought it would have worked. I was thinking he was going to have to pull me out with the truck. Oh well. Live and learn, right?

What matters is…my car is unstuck. Of course, I didn’t drive it back home. I didn’t want to have to risk another pass through the “lake” again tomorrow morning. I drove it up to my sister’s (who lives closer to the main road than I do) and parked it off to the side. I’m hoping it will be a bit easier to get going from there tomorrow. Of course, it means that I’m going to have to walk through the snow-covered field to get to it, but I can do that. I’m a country girl, right?

I guess that’s enough bitching for this evening. I got my car unstuck, I had the day off and I took advantage of the time to get a lot of my outline typed up on the computer. It wasn’t that bad of a day. It definitely could have been worse. We could have had another ice storm. Heaven forbid. I’m still trying to clean up from the last one!

Ok, I’ll quit complaining…LOL.

December 26, 2009 - Posted by | Life | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

