Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

How do you know if you don’t try…?

Lately I’ve been reading others’ writing blogs and websites. It’s been very interesting. I’ve been introduced to several new ideas. Mind-mapping is one. I wrote a little about it in my last “rant”. Another idea that interested me is “screenplays”. I looked up “how to write a screenplay” and learned a little about that. It intrigued me so much that I am now considering trying to write one. Of course, I have to come up with an idea first. But, I love writing dialogue and that seems to be what a screenplay is mostly comprised of. Hey, you never know till you try, right?

I bet you’ll never guess what I’m going to talk about in my next “rant”…LOL. Maybe this time I’ll get it out on time.

Anyway, I’ve been having a great time researching new things about writing and seeing what other writers have to say about the craft. It’s about all I can do at the moment, since my hand has been giving me so many problems. It’s tough just writing this. I’d really be up a creek without my ibuprofen.

What did people do before the invention of ibuprofen? I shudder to think.

Needless to say, I haven’t done much in the way of writing lately. It’s ok. I’m not going to worry about it too much. There are plenty of other things I can do…like the research I’ve been doing. It’s all good. Hopefully, my hand will get better soon and I’ll be back in business. In the meantime, I’ll be thinking about the outline to the next book. I already have a good idea of where it’s going and how it will end, I just have to fill in a little. I’m thinking about trying out my mind-mapping program on it.

Oh, I’ve also had another idea for my blog. I was reading how people tweet ongoing stories in bits and pieces on twitter and thought I might try and do something like that in here. Maybe do a weekly post of new installments. Sounds like a fun idea…I just need to come up with an idea for a story…LOL. Since I’m pretty sure that there won’t be many other people reading it but me, I guess I can pick a topic to please myself. And since I’m rather on the odd side, it will probably offend most everyone else…LOL.

Well, if you can’t please everyone, you gotta please yourself, right? Umm…metaphorically speaking, that is.

December 4, 2009 - Posted by | Life, Writing

4 Comments »

  1. I love reading what other writers are doing and giving them a go. Sometimes they just don’t work for me and othertimes I don’t spend enough time making them work, but I like trying new things.
    Good luck with your plans to possibly write a screenplay.

    Comment by Cassandra Jade | December 4, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks, Cass. I’m right there with you. I’m still relatively new to taking my writing seriously and putting real effort into it. I have learned so much from others in the last year though…through local writing groups, online chats, and just searching the internet. So many different ways of doing things.

      Comment by loisanne67 | December 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. What happened? Did you break it?

    Comment by Uninvoked | December 4, 2009 | Reply

    • Uninvoked, no, I didn’t break it. I’m a cake decorator and I over-use my hand quite often at work. I have carpal tunnel and sometimes I also get tendonitis. Both are acting up right now. It’s getting better though, slowly but surely. I’ve learned to use my left hand for a lot of things. I appreciate your concern. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

      Comment by loisanne67 | December 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

