Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

Finally, a finished outline!

I finally finished the outline of Book 1. Hooray!

 

I’ve been working on it for a long time and I’m now finished and pleased with the final product. I know what all book 1 will include and where it will end. Now I just need to get it typed up on the computer. I have 19 pages plus extra notes. I’ll probably add a little more detail as I’m typing it too. It’s going to be a big help. I’m so excited! I feel like I’ve accomplished something major. I guess, in a way, I have. I now have all the plot points of my story and just have to fill in the details. Isn’t it awesome?

 

I have the next 2 days off and I’m going to be spending as much of them as I can typing away on my outline. It’s so much easier to add and take away and write notes to a file on the computer than it is in a notebook. Don’t get me wrong though. I love having my notebook with me all the time. I love to jot down ideas when I get a chance. I’ve had some of my best epiphanies while on my lunch break at work.

 

I really think this is going to help me get writing on my story again. I already have 30,000 words written, chapters 1 – 9 and a piece near the end, but I’m pretty sure it will take over another 100,000 to get the job done. Who knows how long it will end up being by the time I’m finished.

 

Then there’s book 2…LOL. I already have some ideas about that one as well. I have a vague idea of where I want it to end. Same with book 3.

 

Yeah, there’s going to be 3 books!

 

It’s funny when I think back to the beginning of this project and how I just wanted to write a story for Jared with him as the main character. It has grown and evolved so much that it’s no longer just a short kids story but possibly a huge trilogy. I may even like writing about these kids so much that I want to continue on. It makes me wonder if J.K. Rowling’s idea about Harry Potter started out smaller than it ended up. Hmmm.

 

I would love to tell you all the details of my story, including the ones I have for the future books, but I know I can’t. I wouldn’t want to spoil the ending. Not to mention, there might be someone out there that thinks my ideas are good ones and that they can do a better job of writing the story. I wouldn’t want to tempt anyone…LOL.

 

Well, as much as I’d love to keep talking about me, me, me, I need to give it a break for now. I have a major catastrophe waiting for me in my kitchen. I put a big package of hamburger in the freezer last night and it must have shifted and fallen against the door, because this morning when I got up, there it was on the floor in a small puddle of water, the freezer door wide open, and everything in it thawed out. Yeah, it really bummed me out, but what can you do? Just clean it up and go on. I didn’t have time to do it this morning though, had to work, so now it’s time to take care of business.

 

November 29, 2009 - Posted by | Life, Writing

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

