Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

Twas the day after Thanksgiving…

I had a very good Thanksgiving, despite having to work half the day. Of course, I was the last one to arrive, but everyone waited on me. That was sweet. I didn’t expect them to wait.

We had an awesome feast and I ate too much (doesn’t everyone?). We also had a lot of fun playing Guitar Hero 5. I mostly played the guitar, but I did sing one song. I didn’t play the drums.

I was going to write down all the posts I made on Facebook about all the things I am thankful for, but I just didn’t get around to it yesterday. It’s been a little difficult getting to the computer again this evening, but I have banished the children and shut the door in the hopes of getting a little time to myself.

I shall now attempt to share all my Facebook posts (hopefully before one of the kids interrupts me). It all started with a friend’s post…

“Every day this month until Thanksgiving think of one thing that you are thankful for and post it as your status. “Today I am thankful for…” The longer you do it the harder it gets! Now if you think you can do it then repost this message to invite others to take the challenge, then post what you a…re thankful for today. I think this is a great idea! makes you appreciate more and a good reminder!”

I saw this post and thought it sounded like a great idea. I decided to give it a shot. I really do have a lot to be thankful for. Here goes…

1. Today I am thankful for my wonderful Mom, who is the one person I can always depend on. I love her lots.

2. I am thankful…that Joe got the brakes fixed on my car and I have wheels again!

3. Since yesterday’s “thankful for” didn’t last long, I’ll replace it with a different one. I’m thankful for my computer. It keeps me in touch with people better than I would on my own. And today…I’m thankful for my big, king-size, pillow-top, comfy bed. It loves me as much as I love it. Parting is such sweet sorrow. It… gives me sweet lovin’ every night. Waaaayyy better than any man I’ve ever known…LOL.

4. AHHHH! I almost forgot to tell what I’m thankful for today. I am thankful for having time to myself. I miss my kids when they go to their Daddy’s but I really enjoy my time alone and it makes me so happy to see the boys when they get back.

5. Today I am thankful for days off! WooHoo!!!!!!!

6. Today I am thankful for…getting to have lunch with my best friend Deb and then going to Pier 1. I love you, Deb and I’m thankful that I met you.

7. Today I’m thankful for….heat. It’s freaking cold out there!

8. Today I am thankful for…my children. Ok, so I’m thankful for them every day (some more than others). They are pretty awesome people. I love them very much.

9. Today I am thankful for….my senses. I’m so thankful to be able to listen to beautiful music, see the beauty of the countryside, smell a man’s cologne, taste a turkey dinner and hug my children’s soft, warm bodies.

10. Today I am thankful for…imagination, mine as well as others. Without it there would be no creativity.

11. Today I am thankful for…being a woman. No offense guys, but I wouldn’t want to be a “man” for anything…LOL.

12. Today I am thankful for…my job. Yeah, I know that sounds a little strange…LOL…but I actually like what I do. I also like having money to pay my house payment, bills and buy groceries. I know, I don’t look like I’m so poor I’m starving…LOL

13. Today I am thankful for…being me. I may not care for my physical imperfections (who does?), but I am very comfortable with who I am on the inside.

14. Today I am thankful for….Men. They can sure be pleasing to the eye. Unfortunately, that’s about all their good for….just kidding boys….maybe.

15. Today I am thankful for…being alive in such a wonderful time as this. All the technology and comfort we have now is so awesome. We don’t use it as wisely as we should and we take it for granted.

And that’s as far as I got. It’s not too shabby a list. They are all very important things to me. I could have kept going. There are so many things to be thankful for. I am a very lucky person. Probably luckier than I realize. It’s all a matter of persepective though…right? I just try to maintain an attitude of gratitude. It doesn’t always work…I’m human…but I try.

I hope everyone else had a wonderful Thanksgiving too. Now it’s time to think about Christmas! It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Where’s my Christmas decorations?

November 27, 2009 - Posted by | Family, Life

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

