Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

Another day

Kiss my...well, you know what I'm talking about.

 

Today has been a rough day. My legs and feet are still hurting.

 

You wouldn’t be in such good shape if I was standing on you all day either, you know.

 

I shall be gloriously relieved when Thanksgiving is over. I can reset the counter and start all over, the excitement and frenzy building to a crescendo until I am once again at this point and ready for Christmas to be over. Holidays are a bitch when you work in retail. Tomorrow I will go to work and it will seem like everyone withing a 50 mile radius will visit the store…at least once. It will be chaos. It will be hell on earth. The apocalypse will pale in comparison.

 

Makes me glad I work behind a plexi-glass wall. If only I had some mini-blinds. Call me crazy, but I don’t like being in a swarm of old ladies who wear cologne so heavy it makes me gag or men that reek of body odor that get sent to the store by their wives to pick up last minute items. Ok, not every customer is an olfactory assailant but trust me…there are a lot. Then you have the people that obviously don’t own a mirror. How do I know this, you ask? Because if they had one, they would never be in public wearing the clothes they wear…or not wearing the clothes they should be…LOL.

 

To make matters worse, you throw all these people together in a grocery store, give them metal shopping carts that are the equivalent of bumper cars and, throw in for good measure, not enough of something to go around. You end up with irrate customers asking an irrate me where something is at. Since I’m usually busy decorating a cake and usually haven’t got a clue what they’re asking about, an irrate me (cleverly hid behind a smiling facade) asks an irrate co-worker to help the irrate customer. Fun!

 

Wait! That’s not all folks! There’s more!

 

Come break time, I get to navigate through the sea of shopping carts to the break area. If I make good time, I may actually get to sit down and relax for a minute or two before having to navigate my way back.

 

Heaven forbid should the need to buy anything arise tomorrow.

 

And don’t get me started on the parking lot! It almost makes me glad that I don’t have a car right now. Almost.

 

Whew! Deep breath! It will all be ok. Tomorrow will come and go and at the end of the day I shall be standing triumphantly outside the door wishing I had a little mistletoe over my ass…LOL.

November 24, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

