Loisanne's Blog

The meandering path of my life

Weekly Rant – Character Questionnaire

Have you ever had a hard time making a character real? Maybe you’re having difficulty in creating depth to characters? I know the feeling. In the story I’m currently writing, I use my children as the main characters. Ok, they are not exact copies of mychildren, but I use a lot of their characteristics. It’s pretty much a no-brainer. When it came to the villian though, I was having a hard time defining him. I did not want him to be evil incarnate. I wanted him to seem likeable at first glance and only when being opposed and under stress would he show his unstable, evil qualities. I was really having a hard time getting to know him.

It was time to start asking him some questions.

From what little I knew about my character, I had a good idea of what I wanted him to look like. Matthew McConaughey. I wanted him to be beautiful and charming on the outside. I needed to know more about the inside though.

So, what questions to ask?

The writing group I’m a part of had a discussion about it and we all came up with some ideas. I will list them below. I think we did a good job of it but I’m sure there are lots of questions we missed. This is a good start though.

1. What is your favorite color?
2. What sort of music do you listen to? Favorite song?
3. Are you religious? What religion?
4. What are your political views, if any?
5. What is your favorite food?
6. What is your favorite beverage?
7. What is your favorite dessert?
8. Do you have any phobias/fears?
9. Do you have any siblings?
10. Are your parents alive?
11. Were you raised by your parents? Both, just one, niether?
12. What is your most embarassing moment?
13. What is your favorite childhood memory?
14. Do you have a pet? What kind?
15. Do you have a best friend?
16. Gay, straight, bi, celibate?
17. What sort of education do you have?
18. What sort of work do you do? Past jobs?
19. Are you social or do you prefer to be alone?
20. Are you quick -tempered or calm natured?
21. Are you confidant or insecure?
22. Do you have any bad habits?
23. Do you have any physical flaws?
24. What are your life goals?
25. Do you have any hobbies?
26. Do you have any pet-peeves?
27. Do you frequently remember your dreams? Are they good or bad?
28. What is your astrilogical sign?
29. What is one thing you would give your life for?
30. Have you ever been in love?
31. Do you have any children?
32. What is your greatest weakness? Strength?
33. Have you ever done something you regret? Explain.
34. Have you ever hurt someone just for fun?
35. Do you have a sense of humor?
36. Do you follow fashion trends?
37. Have you ever killed someone? Explain.
38. Would you define yourself and a hero or villian? (remember this is your characters definition of himself)
39. What is one thing that you’ve always wanted to do?
40. Do you believe in destiny?

I think these questions cover the basics. Of course, not every character will need to answer every question and some characters will require you to come up with new, off the wall questions.

I have not put my main characters through this questionnaire since I know them so well, but even so, while composing this list, it reminded me that my youngest son loves coffee. He drinks it every morning. He drinks it hot, cold or in a frozen smoothie. He’s crazy about coffee. He’s 11. It’s a bit unusual for someone so young to like coffee so much. At least, I think so. Point is, it’s something about him that I am going to use in my story. It’s something that will define him better…set him aside from the other characters.

It makes me wonder if there is anything I’ve missed about my other son. I may have to run them both through the list and see what I come up with. Fortunately for me, they are real people and I can have them answer instead of myself doing it for them.

That gives me an interesting thought. What about asking people I know to fill out this questionnaire? Some of the answers I get could be things I would never think of. It might be so intriguing that I would want to create a character after them. What an awesome idea! I think I’ll do that.

Anyway, I hope this helps someone in some way. I just thought the idea of a character questionnaire was such a good idea that I wanted to share it with the world. I’ve learned so much from others that I want to give something back.

November 23, 2009 - Posted by | Weekly Rant

1 Comment »

  1. […] to help out by checking out books for you. Character development is a form of research. I have a character questionnaire in a previous post that is […]

    Pingback by Weekly Writing Rant: Finding Time To Write « Loisanne's Blog | January 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

